White Settlement Independent School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Congrats Blue Haze Elementary teacher Marissa Torres ... the 2018 Texas Elementary Teacher of the Year!  8th Annual Mad Scientist Night Monday, Sept. 25, 6-7:30 p.m., Brewer Middle Stadium!  Brewer Homecoming Friday, Sept. 29 at 7 p.m.

WSISD Education Foundation Awards Nearly $14,000 in Grants to Kickoff School Year

To kick off the school year, the White Settlement ISD Education Foundation awarded nearly $14,000 in grants during the district's Convocation on Aug. 14. Educators who pay $5 monthly to the Foundation get to wear jeans the first Monday of each month, AND they are eligible to win special grants that are awarded in August. 
The winners were: (front row, l-r) North Elementary teacher Cynthia Ford, $391.56 Culinary Arts Club; West Elementary teacher Jonetta Prewitt, $372.83 Pick Your Seat, Not Your Nose; Tannahill Intermediate teacher Alyssa Winn, $192.95 Spinning for Science; North Elementary teacher Sara Parra, $750 Bears are Flexible;  Tannahill Intermediate teacher Jamey Souza, $750 Classroom Engagement; and Brewer Middle School teacher Dawn Collins $750 Creative Seating for Creative Minds.
Other winners are: (continued l-r) Liberty Elementary teacher Brittani Thomas, $1,055.83 Our Year, Through Our Eyes; Student Services Coordinator Jennifer Heddins and Behavior Coach Cynthia Johnson, $1,298.95 Positive Behavior Inventions Skills Workshop; Tannahill Intermediate and Fine Arts Academy GLO teacher Loretta Haley, $2,345.58 Innovation Station: Building a Collaboratory; and she and Blue Haze Elementary GLO teacher Erin Roark, $2,480.26 for Sparking an Interest.                                                 

Blue Haze Elementary teacher Breanne Ingram received $750 for Flexible Seating to Succeed, and Brewer High School teacher Tommy Bowers, Unmanned Aircraft Systems (drones), $2,499.68.

Members of the Education Foundation Board of Directors are: (back row, l-r) Melissa Brown, Nancy Rodriguez, Tim Duncan, Janette Owens, Tim Matheus, David Bitters, Chris Jenkins, Larry Clements, Tony Mancil, Ryan Blake, and Kelly Ferguson.