White Settlement Independent School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Follow White Settlement ISD

Join us for Pancakes with Santa Saturday, Dec. 7 from 9 to 11 a.m. in the Brewer High School Cafeteria! Brewer Fine Arts Department presents "Beauty and the Beast" Friday through Sunday!
Athletic Hall of Fame » 2014 Athletic Hall of Fame

2014 Athletic Hall of Fame

2014 Hall of Fame Inductees

The Brewer Athletic Hall of Fame Executive Nominating Committee selected the 2014 inductees on May 15.

Inductees are: Coach Ellen Johnson; G. Eric Morris, class of 1983; Diana Castaneda, class of 2002, the 2000 softball team.
One Team, Three Individuals Inducted into 2014 Hall of Fame
More than 150 people celebrated the induction of the late Coach Ellen Johnson, Eric Morris, Diana Castañeda, and the 2000 softball team into the Brewer High School Athletic Hall of Fame during White Settlement ISD's 5th Annual Induction Ceremony on Sept. 13.
Honorees—inducted for their outstanding achievements in Brewer athletics—were also honored during pre-game of the football game on Sept. 12.  The Hall of Fame now includes 28 inductees.
Coach Ellen Johnson, 1952-1965
Coach Ellen Johnson won seven district girls’ basketball championships during her 13-year tenure at Brewer, coaching three girls’ basketball teams that advanced to the regional finals. The 1958 team won the championship, advancing to the state tournament.
Johnson coached volleyball, girls’ and boys’ tennis, and golf. She played for the Fort Worth Rebels Women’s Softball Team, which played in China and Mexico. The team won the Mexico Championship, in which she was a player and coach.
The 1958 and 1963 girls’ basketball teams and several of her players were previously inducted into the Brewer High School Athletic Hall of Fame.
Her niece, Gina Guhl, (center) is pictured with team member Juretta Kirkland Wells and Superintendent Frank Molinar.
Eric Morris, Class of 1983
The 1981 District Sophomore of the Year, Eric Morris was a three-year letterman in baseball. Pitching 48 innings with 32 strike outs that year, he had a 2.63 Earned Run Average and batted a .304 average.
The 1982 All Tarrant County Pitcher, Morris was also District MVP, with a pitching record of 13-2. He pitched two shutouts against the eventual district champions. Brewer was 10-0 in district, and Morris made the All Tarrant County Team, with a batting average of .481 and Earned Run Average of 1.22.
Voted 1983 District MVP as second baseman, Morris hit seven home runs and had a .400 batting average in district. His batting average for the season was .342, with 32 RBIs and 7 home runs, and an Earned Run Average of 1.0.
A two-year football letterman, Morris was the 1981 All-District Punter with a 37.3 average. He was named the 1982 All-District Quarterback, with 85 completions of 147 attempts for 1,214 yards in 8 regular season games.
He was the only quarterback signed by the number 1 ranked SMU Mustangs in 1983. The 1983 class of recruits was ranked number 2 in the nation. 
Morris played in the 1983 Sun Bowl and Oil Bowl All-Star Games as well as the 1984 Aloha Bowl.
He is pictured with teammate Sam Feronti (right) and Superintendent Frank Molinar.
Diana Castañeda, Class of 2002
The 2002 Star-Telegram Area Softball Statistic (Pitching) Leader and All District 6-4A Pitcher of the Year, Diana Castañeda was a four-year softball letterman. A member of the 2002 All Star-Telegram 1st Team Softball Team, Castañeda earned All District All Academic in softball in 2002.
Also that year, she was named an Honorable Mention Star-Telegram Player of the Week and selected for the 2002 Softball West All Star Team.
The 2000 Fort Worth Star-Telegram Newcomer of the Year, Castañeda was also named Honorable Mention for softball by the Dallas Morning News. 
A four-year cross country letterman, she was a 1999 All District Team Regional Qualifier.  She earned All District Academic in basketball and softball that year, lettering in basketball for three years.
The first woman to be named DECA State President in 20 years, Castañeda earned a full scholarship to attend the University of Texas San Antonio, where she pitched for a year and then transferred to North Texas State University to earn her degree.
She is pictured with teacher Woody Winn and Superintendent Frank Molinar.
2000 Softball Team
With a postseason record of 26-11, the 2000 softball team was the first softball team in Brewer High School history to advance to District play. The girls won the Bi-District and Area Championships as well as the Regional Semi-Finals.
The team advanced to the Regional Quarterfinals, losing to Weatherford, the eventual 4A state champion.
Coach Bill Watkins was named Fort Worth Star-Telegram Coach of the Year and pitcher Diana Castañeda, Newcomer of the Year. Centerfielder Kelly Lowry was named to the Area 2nd Team.
Pictured with Superintendent Frank Molinar and Randy Armstrong, team parent, are players: Asia Anders, Diana Castañeda, Jessica Sanchez Castillo, Samantha Hannah Fowler, Nicole Jones Herrick, Annie Bewley Lease,  Ashley Nelson,  Kelly Lowry Ramsey, Tamber Podsednik Simmons, Kylee Armstrong Velarde and Mandy Blevins Yount and assistant coaches Theresa Bicknell Barnett and Jennifer Walker Heddins.
Not pictured are: Coach Bill Watkins, Assistant Coach Lora Yeomans, and players Andrea Ruth Fisher, Lauren Mack, Alica McClure Patino and Shanna Sapp.
Pictured are the game are: Gina Guhl, Diana Castañeda, Jessica Sanchez Castillo, Kelly Lowry Ramsey, Asia Anders, Mandy Blevins Yount, Samantha Hannah Fowler, Nicole Jones Herrick and Jennifer Heddins.