White Settlement Independent School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Register for Summer Pride and Brewer Athletic Summer Camps!
Dual Language & ESL » General Information

General Information

Director of Dual Language and ESL programs:
Amy Ferguson
aferguson@wsisd.net

Campus LPAC Coordinators:
BHS Amy Ferguson aferguson@wsisd.net
BMS Rocio Gonzalez rgonzalez@wsisd.net
Tannahill Erin Sierra sierra@wsisd.net
Blue Haze Tina Ingram tingram@wsisd.net
FAA Brenda Vandiver bvandiver@wsisd.net
Liberty Kara Ramsey kramsey@wsisd.net
North Monica Harp mharpwsisd@wsisd.net
West Ellen Crutsinger ecrutsinger@wsisd.net

ESL (English as a Second Language) services (GradesPK-12) are available for English Language Learners on all campuses. The goal of ESL support is to give these students intensive, targeted instruction in English language acquisition while students develop English language proficiency so that they may access the general curriculum. Research shows that it may take 5-7 years for students to develop academic language proficiency. The district employs sheltered English instruction according to the state required English Language Proficiency Standards across all content areas for English Language Learners as determined by students’ LPAC recommendations required under TEC CH. 89

Dual Language Program, Grades PK-6th (established in 2003-04 school year)
The district currently implements both one-way and two-way dual language immersion programs. The district believes that this program will give students many advantages in the state of Texas with our shifting demographics. The dual language program also fulfills the state requirement under TEC CH.89 to serve qualified students in a bilingual program. The goal of the dual language program is for students (both native Spanish and native English Speakers) to develop proficiency in both English and Spanish. Language proficiency includes listening, speaking, reading, and writing. Students receive content area instruction in both English and Spanish. Because native Spanish speakers have support in their native language, they are less likely to develop gaps in learning content and concepts of the state required curriculum. This native language support gives them a strong foundation upon which to build English Language Proficiency skills. Our Dual Language teachers have received staff development training in the Gomez & Gomez dual language immersion model.

Our dual language programs are located at:
  • Liberty Elementary
  • North Elementary
  • West Elementary
  • Tannahill Intermediate
 
Texas Middle School AP Spanish Program– 7th & 8th grade @ Brewer Middle School (established 2010-11)

Spanish classes for middle school 2011-12/Recommended Credit:
  • 7th Accelerated Spanish I = 1 credit for high school Spanish 1
    (Prerequisite: Students qualify with a basic to intermediate level of Spanish)
  • 8th Accelerated Spanish II = credit for high school Spanish 2
    (Prerequisite: Students completed and passed Acc Span I)
  • 7th Pre – AP Spanish = 3 credits for high school Spanish 1-3 Honors
    (Prerequisite: Students qualify with an advance to proficient level of Spanish)
  • 8th AP Spanish IV = 1 credit for high school Spanish IV AP
    (Prerequisite: Students completed and passed Pre-AP Spanish)